Staff associated with the Advanced Composites Manufacturing Centre

Core staff: Role: E-mail:
John Summerscales Professor of Composites Engineering John Summerscales
Richard Cullen Composites Manufacturing and Testing Richard Cullen
John Richard
Associated academic staff:   E-mail:
Dr Frank Abraham Associate Professor (SL): mechanical and marine engineering Frank Abraham
Dr Shakil Awan Lecturer and graphene research Dr Shakil Awan
Dr Alexander Besinis Lecturer: mechanical engineering Alexander Besinis
Eur Ing Dr Alistair Cree Lecturer: mechanical engineering and marine technology Alistair Cree
Dr Sung-Hwan Jang Lecturer: civil engineering Sung-Hwan Jang
Dr Jasper Graham-Jones Associate Professor (SL): mechanical and marine engineering Jasper Graham-Jones
Mr Adam Kyte Lecturer: mechanical and marine engineering design Adam Kyte
Dr Christopher Lavers Lecturer: radar & telecomms Christopher Lavers
Dr Maozhou (Leo) Meng Lecturer: mechanical engineering Maozhou (Leo) Meng
Mr Mike Miles Lecturer:  quality management. Mike Miles
Dr Richard Pemberton Lecturer: mechanical and marine engineering design Richard Pemberton
Dr Ross Pomeroy UPC Subject Forum Chair (Science and Technology) Ross Pomeroy
Dr Jahir Rizvi Lecturer: mechanical & marine engineering Jahir Rizvi
Adam Alistair Chris Frank Jahir Jasper
Maozhou Meng Michael Miles
Maozhou/Leo Mike Richard Ross (right) Shakil Sung
Technical Support:   E-mail:
Glenn Harper Plymouth Electron Microscopy Centre Glenn Harper
Richard Kenyon Marine Sports Richard Kenyon
Terry Richards Structural Integrity Terry Richards
Sam Thorpe  Materials and Structures Sam Thorpe
GlennRichard K
Knowledge Transfer: KTP = Knowledge Transfer Partnership, R&I = Research and Innovation E-mail:
Colin Hague KTP Associate at Alan Harper Composites Limited Colin Hague
Rupert Lorraine Business Partner: R&I Research Gateway Rupert Lorraine
David Marshall Specialist Advisor (KTP & Enterprise Solutions): R&I Research Gateway David Marshall
Steven Rice Project Officer: Marine Innovation Centre/Innovation Gateway/GAIN Steven Rice
Tim Sydenham Business Partner: R&I Research Gateway Tim Sydenham
Rupert Dave Steven Tim
Research degree candidates Study topic E-mail:
Dayang binti Abang Ismawi Hassim PhD student: fatigue properties of novel recycled rubber compounds Dayang
Muhsin Aljuboury PhD student: composite laminate flange connections Muhsin Aljuboury
Benjamin Bryant PhD students: Ultraviolet polymers with reference to additive manufacturing  
Aitor Hernandez~Michelena PhD student: natural fibre composites Aitor Hernandez~Michelena
Casper Kruger PhD student: Effect of complex geometry on closed form FRP analytical methods
Aitor Dayang Muhsin
Former ACMC colleagues    
Dr Stephen Grove
Associate Professor
Dmitriy Makhnovskiy
Lecturer: actuators and smart media
David Short
Senior Lecturer
Angela Cullen
(formerly Brewser)
Denise Horne
Joe Ellison
Enterprise Officer
Julian Spooner
Project Leader
Tim Searle
General Manager
Amjed Mahmood
PhD awarded
Mahdi Al-Farttoosi
PhD awarded
Maozhou (Leo) Meng
PhD awarded
Rzgar Abdalrahman
PhD awarded
Vlad Zamorovskii
MPhil awarded
Mandy Bowden
Specialist Advisor (KTP & Enterprise Solutions)
Cristina Di Tomasso
Exchange Student
Marta Llorens Pérez
Exchange Student
Sara Castilho
KTP Associate
Crumb Rubber
Achille Ferrante
Erasmus+ intern: banana fibre reinforcements
Zoltán Gombos
PDRF/Technical Support
Eric Olifiers
Visiting Fellow
Science without Frontiers
Omar Sheikh
FP7 RampCo project Research Assistant